President's Medal

President Scott S. Cowen established the Tulane University President's Medal in 1999. The medal is awarded at the sole discretion of the president to individuals who have distinguished themselves by their actions and who have contributed in some manner to the well-being of Tulane University or the city of New Orleans. Unlike the honorary degree, this award may commemorate deeds other than academic achievement. Designed by Professor Emeritus Franklin Adams, the front of the medal features a sculpted TU symbol. This university emblem was first used as an architectural symbol on the exterior of two historic buildings on the uptown campus, Tilton Hall and Robert C. Cudd Hall.

Tulane University President's Medal

 Medal Recipients





 Drew Brees

 New Orleans Saints Quarterback


 Michael White

 Jazz Artist and Educator


 Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews

 Musician and Founder of Horns for Schools


 Judith Rodin

 Rockefeller Foundation President


 Wendell Pierce

 Treme Star


 Wynton Marsalis

 Jazz Artist


 Anderson Cooper

 CNN Anchor and Author


 Rita Benson LeBlanc*

 Part Owner and Executive Vice President of the New Orleans Saints


 Gregg Williams*

 Defensive Coordinator of the New Orleans Saints


 Jonathan Vilma*

 Team Captain of the New Orleans Saints and Pro Bowl Linebacker


 Ellen DeGeneres

 Host of The Ellen DeGeneres Show


 James Carville

 National Political Commentator


 Mary Matalin

 National Political Commentator


 His Highness Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani

 Amir of the State of Qatar


 Brian Williams

 Managing Editor and Anchor of the NBC Nightly News


 John Breaux

 United States Senator


 Jacques Chirac

 President of France


 Karlem "Ducky" Riess

 Professor and Marshal Emeritus


 William Safire

 New York Times Columnist


 Corinne Lindy Claiborne Boggs

 Former U.S. Representative from Louisiana and Ambassador to the Vatican


 Marian Wright Edelman

 President, Children's Defense Fund


 Walter Isaacson

 Editorial Director, Time Magazine


 Cokie Roberts

 ABC Co-Anchor, This Week with Sam Donaldson and Cokie Roberts


 * On behalf of the New Orleans Saints organization

Office of the President Emeritus, 1555 Poydras St, Suite 700, New Orleans, LA 70112 504-274-3638