Dean's Office

Dean’s Welcome Letter

Welcome to Newcomb-Tulane College - the academic home of all full-time undergraduates. I am confident that you will find a remarkable array of majors and programs of study which can be combined into an almost limitless selection of options. Whatever your chosen major or degree, you will experience an education second to none that provides a wealth of opportunities and challenges.

Tulane is a research intensive university whose faculty are world leaders and experts in their chosen fields, and unlike most research intensive institutions, I can confidently say that the faculty here are dedicated to your education as undergraduates.

The college is here to serve you and help you get the most out of your education. I hope that you find this website useful. It provides an overview of the various units that fall under the college’s purview, explains our services, and provides points of contact for further assistance or information.

The college staff are here to help you and we are always available to our students. Please stop by and see us.

Wishing you every academic success,
James M. MacLaren
Professor of Physics
Dean, Newcomb-Tulane College


James MacLaren

James M. MacLaren, M.A., Ph.D.
Imperial College, London University
(504) 865-5720

James MacLaren, a graduate of Cambridge University, England, earned his Ph.D. in Condensed Matter Physics from Imperial College, London. His research interests are in the electronic structure of materials and in particular magnetic materials. He has published over 100 papers in peer-reviewed journals. MacLaren joined the faculty at Tulane in 1990, and has served in several administrative posts including Chair of the Physics  Department, Associate Provost, acting Dean of the Faculty of the Liberal Arts and Sciences, and most recently as Dean of Newcomb-Tulane College.


Amjad Ayoubi, Ph.D.
Associate Dean
Executive Director of Career Services and Academic Advising
(504) 208-8280 (cell)


Kelly Grant, M.A.
Associate Dean of Retention and Strategic Initiatives
Professor of Practice in Management Communication
(504) 865-5484


F. Thomas Luongo, Ph.D.
Associate Dean & Associate Professor of History
Executive Director of Honors Program
(504) 865-5517


Andrew Martinez, Ph.D.
Associate Dean
(504) 865-5720

Areas of responsibility: Advising Center, Students at Risk, and represents the college on curriculum, academic requirements, and honors committees.


Scott Pentzer, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Center for Global Education
(504) 865-5339


Molly Travis, Ph.D.
Associate Dean
(504) 865-5720

Areas of responsibility: Honor Board



George Harley
Executive Director of Development,
Undergraduate Programs
(504) 314-2809




Robin Hayes
Executive Assistant to the Dean
(504) 314-2822


Linda Rolland
Executive Secretary
(504) 862-8740


Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 504-865-5720