Office Hours:
Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Mailing Address:
Center for Public Service
Alcee Fortier Hall
6823 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70118

Phone: 504-862-8060
Fax: 504-862-8061


facebook-logo   twitter   youtube instagram_1

Staff Award Recipients

Tulane University Staff Excellence Awards

In 2001, Cowen introduced the recognition program for staff members and the successful program is part of the university’s strategic plan. Each year a committee representing a cross section of the university community selects the winners from nominations by their colleagues. The program recognizes up to 10 staff members whose commitment has advanced the mission of Tulane through increased productivity, cost savings, humanitarianism or enhanced objectives.

  • Katie Houck, Assistant Director, 2012
  • Lawrence Smith III, Senior Executive Secretary, 2008
  • Michael Pizzolatto, Program Manager, Campus-Community Partnerships, 2007
  • Kirsten Breckinridge, Assistant Director, Faculty Training and Support, 2006
  • Yvette Barnett, Secretary, 2003
  • Amanda Buberger, Assistant Director, Campus-Community Partnerships, 2002
  • Vincent Ilustre, Executive Director, 2001

Gambit Weekly 40 Under 40

New Orleans is a city blessed with a wealth of innovators who use their skills to make the city a better place, whether through social programs, business, the arts or technology. Every year (except 2005), Gambit solicits nominations from the public, then honors 40 people under the age of 40 for their accomplishments and the contributions they have made to New Orleans.

  • Vincent Ilustre, Executive Director, 2011

Yvette Milner Jones Award

In recognition of Yvette M. Jones' longstanding leadership, dedication and tireless service to the advancement of Tulane University, the Tulane University Board has established the Yvette Milner Jones Award. The award will be given to an outstanding Tulane University staff member or administrator for his or her superior achievement, dedicated service and involvement in the affairs of the Tulane University community. Building upon her legacy, the recipient of the award will reflect the same loyalty, foresight and initiative that characterize Yvette M. Jones' accomplishments in strengthening Tulane University.

American Express Leadership Academy

Michael Pizzolatto, Program Manager of the AmeriCorp VISTA program, was selected to participate in The American Express Leadership Academy – a week–long program created by American Express in partnership with the Center for Creative Leadership (CCL), highly regarded as a leading practitioner of leadership education and research. The purpose of the program is to develop dedicated emerging leaders ready to serve at the helm of the country’s nonprofit sector. The 2011 Leadership Academy, in collaboration with the Corporation for National and Community Service, focuses on the national service priorities of education and veterans and military families.  CNCS nominated 120 individuals from programs across the county, and  American Express along with CCL narrowed that down to 24 participants.

Outstanding Contributions to Service Learning in Higher Education by the Gulf-South Summit on Service Learning and Civic Engagement

Vincent Ilustre, Executive Director of the Tulane Center for Public Service, received the 2008 award at a conference held March 13–15 in Nashville. Ilustre was cited for his work in expanding programming for service learning at Tulane, heading up a Center for Public Service that is widely benchmarked by other universities and for building a dialogue among service-learning practitioners throughout the Gulf South region.

Outstanding Volunteer Leader for HandsOn New Orleans Day

Craig Willie, Program Manager for the Student Training and Leadership Development unit of the Tulane Center for Public Service was recognized on March 25, 2010 by HandsOn New Orleans for his outstanding volunteer service in the community.

Center for Public Service, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-862-8060