For more information contact:
Agnieszka Nance
(504) 862-3348


facebook-logo   twitter   youtube instagram_1

National Faculty Service Awards

Tulane faculty members have received numerous accolades and awards for their work in community engagement, including the following:

Ernest A. Lynton Award for Faculty Professional Service and Academic Outreach

The Ernest A. Lynton Award for Faculty Professional Service and Academic Outreach, given by the New England Resource Center for Higher Education (NERCHE), recognizes faculty members who connect their expertise and scholarship to community outreach. Award recipients demonstrate excellence in each of the four criteria for the award: sustained effort in community outreach and professional service; use of innovative and imaginative approaches; institutional impact through teaching, program development and student/faculty participation; and external success through scholarly output, community impact and student learning.

  • Jordan Karubian, Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Winner of the 2012 Lynton Award

 The IARSLCE Research Award recognizes outstanding career contributions to scholarly endeavors addressing service-learning and community engagement. It is designed to recognize research that systematically addresses the exploration and understanding of the field. For the purpose of this award, “research” is broadly defined to include all paradigms of scholarly endeavor, with particular emphasis on empirically-based research. The recipient is expected to give an address at the annual research conference that relates to his/her research the year after receiving the award.

  • Dr. Barbara Moely, Professor Emeritus, Psychology, 2010

The Gulf-South Summit Award for Outstanding Faculty Contributions to Service-Learning Instruction is be given to a member of the teaching faculty who has demonstrated excellence incorporating service-learning pedagogy in the college/university classroom. Evaluation criteria are as follows: Demonstration of engaged teaching methodologies; Evidence of benefits to students; Evidence of collaboration with community partners and/or beneficiaries in course design; and Demonstration of sustained commitment by incorporating service-learning consistently for at least three academic terms.″

  • Grover Mouton, Director of Tulane Regional Urban Design, 2012
  • Jimmy Huck, Administrative Professor, Stone Center for Latin American Studies, 2010
  • Barbara Moely, Professor Emeritus, Psychology, 2003

Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award is presented to one outstanding faculty member each year by Campus Compact, "for exemplary leadership in advancing the civic learning of students, including public scholarship, building campus commitment to service-learning and civic engagement, and fostering reciprocal community partnerships. The award is named in honor of Thomas Ehrlich, former chair of the Campus Compact board of directors and president emeritus of Indiana University."

  • Dr. Darol Reese, School of Architecture, 2009 Ehrlich Award Finalist
  • Dr. Michael Cunningham, Psychology, 2008 Ehrlich Award Finalist
  • Dr. Barbara Moely, Psychology and founding Director of the Office of Service Learning, 2002 Ehrlich Award Finalist

Louisiana Legislative Women's Caucus Foundation - Women of Excellence Awards

The  Louisiana Legislative Women's Caucus Foundation created this award in 2008 to recognize and honor the exemplary achievements of Louisiana women who personify excellence in leadership, profession, academics, community service, character, and integrity.

  • Dr. Annette Oertling, Biomedical Engineering, 2012 - Award for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
  • Dr. Carol McMichael Reese, School of Architecture, 2009 - Volunteerism and Civic Involvement

Other Faculty Award opportunities include:

Primary Source Award

The Center for Research Libraries developed this Award to recognize faculty, librarians and library staff, graduate students, and other researchers within the CRL community for innovative uses of primary sources in three arenas: research, teaching, and access.

  • Dr. Elisabeth McMahon, Department of History, 2010 Award Recipient for her service learning class, "Archiving Africa"

National Science Board Public Service Award

Recipients of the NSF Public Service Award are chosen for their contributions in areas such as: increasing the public's understanding of the scientific process and its communication; contributing to the development of broad science and engineering policy; promoting the engagement of scientists and engineers in public outreach; and fostering awareness of science and technology among broad segments of the population.

Center for Public Service, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-862-8060