shadow_tr

Ongoing Lecture Series


Sandra Garrard Memorial Lecture

Recent Trends in Contemporary Art

Terry K. Simmons Lecture


Andrew Ladis Trecento Conference

 2016 Trecento Conference

November 10-12, 2016


Exhibitions 


Carroll Gallery

Undergraduate Juried Exhibition  Exhibition juror: Emily Wilkerson, Curatorial Associate, Prospect.New Orleans 

Undergraduate Juried Exhibition

Exhibition on view: November 8 - 22 | Opening Reception: Thursday, Nov. 10th, 5:30 - 7:30 pm | Walkthrough with the Juror: Friday, Nov. 11, 6:00 pm | Carroll Gallery


Newcomb Art Museum

Marking the Infinite

ANGELINA PWERLE, Bush Plum, 2010. Synthetic polymer paint on canvas, 46 23/50 x 78 7/20 in. (118.01 x 199.01 cm)

May 9-31 | Jazz Funeral for Shakespeare: Monday May 9, 6:30 pm





Upcoming Lectures and Events


Undergraduate Juried Exhibition | Exhibition juror: Emily Wilkerson, Curatorial Associate, Prospect.New Orleans | Exhibition on view: November 8 - 22 | Opening Reception: Thursday, Nov. 10th, 5:30 - 7:30 pm | Walkthrough with the Juror: Friday, Nov. 11, 6:00 pm | Carroll Gallery

Sandra Garrard Memorial Lecture: Arlene Shechet | Thursday, November 17, 7pm | Freeman Auditorium

Newcomb Art Department Holiday Sale | December 2nd  and 3rd, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm | Preview event: Thursday, December 1, 6 – 8 pm | Carroll Gallery


Recent Lectures and Events


Visiting Artist: Phil Vinson | Friday November 4, BBQ 5:30pm, Slide Talk 6:00pm. Hot Glass Demo 6:30pm, Pace-Willson Glass Studio, 125 Woldenberg Art Center

Andrew Ladis Trecento Conference | November 10 – 12

Dante and the Moment of Florentine Art, keynote address by Marvin Trachtenberg, Edith Kitzmiller Professor of the History of Fine Arts, The Institute of Fine Arts, New York University | Thursday November 10, 6pm | Freeman Auditorium

MFA Artist Talks: Pippin Frisbee-Calder and Christopher Gray | Wednesday, November 2,  6:00pm | Freeman Auditorium

Panoply: an exhibition of new work by Newcomb Art Department faculty | October 7 – 28, 2016 | Preview reception:  Thursday, Oct. 6, 5:30 – 7:30 pm | Carroll Gallery 

Terry K. Simmons Lecture: Inside Out: Internal Anatomy in Michelangelo’s Art | Christian Kleinbub, Ohio State University | Tuesday, October 25, 6pm | Stone Auditorium

MFA Artist Talks: Wiley Aker and Kaori Maeyama | Wednesday, October 19, 6:00pm | Freeman Auditorium

Jamey Grimes and Rick Snow, Chromatic Surfaces: Sculpture / Sound / Light | August 26 - September 30, 2016 | reception: Thursday, September 1, 5:30 - 7:30 pm gallery walkthrough with the artists at 6:00 pm | Special viewing hours on Saturday, August 27, 9 am - 4 pm, in conjunction with Tulane Fall Welcome | Carroll Gallery

Curating Japanese Art: A Century of American Collectors and the Met, Wladis Family Curatorial Lecture, John Carpenter, Curator of Japanese Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art | September 15, 6pm | Stone Auditorium

Elena Dorfman: artist lecture, sponsored by the Newcomb Art Museum | Wednesday, April 20, 6:30 pm | Stone Auditorium

BFA Exhibition | April 21 - 29, 2016, reception Friday, April 22, 5:30-7:30 pm | Carroll Gallery

Student Art Awards | Friday, April 22, 5:00 pm | Stone Auditorium

BA Exhibition |  May 5 - 13, 2016, reception, Friday, May 13, noon- 2 pm | Carroll Gallery

Tania Bruguera: artist lecture, sponsored by the Newcomb Art Museum | Saturday May 7, 11 am | Freeman Auditorium

First Folio! exhibition, opening reception with Jazz Funeral for William Shakespeare | Monday, May 9 | Jazz Funeral: 6:30pm, reception: 6:30-8:00pm | Newcomb Art Museum

Sonnets in the Gallery, poetry reading with Peter Cooley, English Department, Tulane University & State Poet Laureate | Tuesday, May 16, 1-3pm | Newcomb Art Museum

Diana Al-Hadid: artist lecture, sponsored by the Newcomb Art Museum | Tuesday, May 10, 6:30 pm | Freeman Auditorium


Jeremy Jones / Brittan Rosendahl: MFA Thesis Exhibition | April 6 - 15, 2016, reception: Thursday, April 14, 5:30 - 7:30 pm | Carroll Gallery

Aspen Mays: artist talk | Wednesday, April 13th, 5:00 pm | Stone Auditorium

The Direct and Indirect | artist talk by Jason Bly | Wednesday, March 30, 6:00pm | Stone Auditorium

Crafting the Social: Reskilling to Change the World (or at least get us talking) | artist talk by Dr. Lisa Vinebaum | Tuesday, April 5th, 5:30 pm | Stone Auditorium

Painting and Context | artist talk by Anne C. Nelson | Wednesday, March 30, 6:00pm | Stone Auditorium

Kristina Knipe / Michelle Swafford: MFA Thesis Exhibition | March 17 - April 1, 2016, reception: Thursday, March 31, 5:30 - 7:30 pm | Carroll Gallery

Robert Lawrence: Visiting Artist | Tuesday, March 15, 6:15pm | Stone Auditorium

The Art of the Future: Itō Jakuchu’s Colorful Realm of Living Beings | lecture by Yukio Lippit, Harvard University | Tuesday March 8, 6:15pm | Stone Auditorium

Devon Murphy / Jeffrey Thurston: MFA Thesis Exhibition | March 3 - 11, 2016, reception: Thursday, March 10, 5:30 - 7:30 pm | Carroll Gallery


“How Nature Geometrizeth:” Image, Figure, and Play in Early Modern Europe | Dr. Rebecca Zorach, Northwestern University | Wednesday, March 2, 6:30pm, Stone Auditorium


Jaclyn Rawls: MFA Thesis Exhibition | Feb. 18 - 26, 2016, reception: Thursday, Feb. 25, 5:30 - 7:30 pm | Carroll Gallery

Contending for the New: Brazil and Argentina at the Walker Art Center in the Sixties |  lecture by Delia Solomons | Friday, February 19, 6:00pm | Stone Auditorium

Jered Sprecher | visiting artist lecture | Tuesday, January 26, 6:30pm | Stone Auditorium

Cullen Washington, Jr. | visiting artist lecture | Wednesday, January 28, 6:00pm | Stone Auditorium

Kate Clark: Mysterious Presence | gallery walk-through with the artist | Saturday, January 23, 3:00pm | Newcomb Art Museum

Andrea Dezsö: I Wonder | artist talk | Wednesday January 20, 6:00pm | Freeman Auditorium

Kate Clark: Mysterious Presence and Andrea Dezsö: I Wonder | exhibition reception | Wednesday January 20, 7-8pm | Woodward Way



Tulane University, Newcomb Art Dept., 202 Woldenberg Art Center, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5327 artdept@tulane.edu