Over the past decade our faculty have published books—often award-winning—with major national and international presses such as the University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, Harvard University Press, Duke University Press, University of Massachusetts Press, Southern Illinois University Press and Rutgers University Press, to name only a few.  Our creative writers have received national and international recognition for their work and are regularly invited to do readings in a number of prestigious venues.  The excellence of our faculty has been recognized through a number of awards including multiple awards from the National Endowment for the Humanities, Fulbright Lecturerships, awards from the American Philosophical Society, the Newberry Library, the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, the American Psychoanalytic Association, the Louisiana Board of Regents, the Mississippi Humanities Center and the Rockefeller Institute in Bellagio, Italy.


Adams, Kate

Ahearn, Barry (American Literature, Poetry, History of Ideas)

Albrecht, Thomas

Bailes, Melissa

Beller, Thomas

Cooley, Peter

Dinerstein, Joel

Imma, Z'étoile

Johnson, T.R.

Kohler, Michelle (Director of Undergraduate Studies)

Kuczynski, Michael (Department Chair) (504-862-8150;

Lazar, Zachary

Lewis, Nghana

Mark, Rebecca

McKeown, Adam

Naruse, Cheryl

Oldenburg, Scott

Pizer, Donald

Rothenberg, Molly (Director of Graduate Studies)

Travis, Molly (Associate Dean of Newcomb-Tulane College)

Ward, Jesmyn

White, Ed

Zumhagen-Yekple, Karen


Professors of Practice

Marks, Laura

Murdock-Hinrichs, Isa



Bezusko, Adriane 

Buhrer, Eliza

Burns, Patricia

Chovanec, Kevin

Forsyth, Vikki

Holt, Megan

Kalos-Kaplan, Elizabeth

Kracke, Alice

Warren, Kellie

Womack, Anne Marie


Adler, Constance

Halverson, Nathan

Herlong, Madaline

Luke, Michael

Mackman, Whitney

O'Connor, Tom

Spicmiler-Lewis, Sanda

Tucker, Angela

Van Young, Adrian

Young, Andrea

Visiting Professors

Lightweis-Goff, Jennifer



Ryan, Barbara (Executive Secretary)


Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5000