Award Winning Student Writing 


The Purvis E. Boyette Memorial Award

The Purvis E. Boyette Memorial Award Fund was established as an endowed fund in 1988 through the generosity of friends and family of the late Professor Purvis E. Boyette. The income from this fund is to be used for prizes in a freshman English essay contest.

Purvis E. Boyette was an Associate Professor in the English Department at the time of his sudden death in 1987. Mr. and Mrs. Birdsong, parents of one of Professor Boyette's students, and his mother, Mrs. Lena W. Boyles, provided the seed money for this fund, which was added to by many others. This fund is actually the endowment for an award which had been made annually by the English Department for several years. The department faculty voted to name this prize the Purvis E. Boyette Memorial Award in honor of their highly-respected colleague, after his untimely death.


Spring 2017 Boyette Prize Winners

1st Place - Quinn Anderson

2nd Place - Abigail Merrill

Past Winners

Fall 2016 Boyette Prize Winners

1st Place - Luka Bair

2nd Place - Nicholas Genna

Spring 2016 Boyette Prize Winners

1st Place - Madeleine Procopio

2nd Place - Hannah Craig


Fall 2015 Boyette Prize Winners

1st Place - Hamilton Beard

2nd Place - Michelle Delaney

Spring 2015 Boyette Prize Winners

1st Place – Anders Bright

2nd Place – Robbie Kaufman

Fall 2014 Boyette Prize Winners

1st Place – Stevie Riley

2nd Place – Matthew Doane


Spring 2014 Boyette Prize Winners

1st Place - Kaitlin Bushkoff

2nd Place - Gracie Markland


Fall 2013

1st Place - Evan Cole

2nd Place - Sebastian Mueller


Spring 2013

1st Place - Daniel Etzioni

2nd Place - Caranina Palomino


Fall 2012

1st Place - Mysia Dye

2nd Place - Scott Spiegel


Spring 2012

1st Place - Ashley Richardon

2nd Place - Dayton Hunn


Fall 2011

1st Place - Carly Asher

2nd Place - Max Seidman


Spring 2011

1st Place - Nora Maria Fuller

2nd Place - Andrew Jones


Fall 2010

1st Place - Hokan Holmquist

2nd Place - Jessica Hatch


Spring 2010

1st Place - Jari Honora

2nd Place - Peter Tzioumis


Fall 2009

1st Place - Josh Micley

2nd Place - Emily Rodkin


Spring 2009

1st Place - Sarah Bobker

2nd Place - Lauren Vosseller


Fall 2008

1st Place - Andrew Goltzer

2nd Place - Abigail Readinger


Spring 2008

1st Place - James Tekkipe

2nd Place - Jennifer Marks


Fall 2007

1st Place - Logan Holzman

2nd Place - Reed Wendorf-French


Spring 2007

1st Place - Anna Whalen

2nd Place - Anna Whalen


Fall 2006

1st Place - Katherine Ellison


Spring 2006

1st Place - Carol MacDonald

2nd Place - Matt Dunham


Spring 2005

1st Place - Sarah Yazdian

2nd Place - Anna Cowan


Fall 2004

1st Place - Thomas Boothby

2nd Place - Arianna Dart


Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5000