12/13/2017  /  Archive

Mohan Ambikaipaker, Assistant Professor of Communication, was shortlisted for the D.K. Dutt Memorial Award for Literary Excellence at the Georgetown Literary Festival in Malaysia. The shortlisted creative non-fiction story, Lessons Out of Time, will be published in an anthology next year.

Derek D. Bardell (MLA ‘01, MA ’02), a Professor of Business Administration & Teaching and Learning at Delgado Community College, has been named a Leadership award recipient by the Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE).

Elizabeth Dao (senior majoring in music performance and neuroscience) and Leah Kaplan (senior majoring in music performance and minoring in cell and molecular biology) are the winners of the Newcomb Department of Music's 2017 Concerto/Aria Contest. Dao, paino, and Kaplan, soprano, will appear as soloists in the Tulane Orchestra's spring 2018 concert. Dao is a student of Professor Faina Lushtak and Kaplan is a student of Professor Amy Pfrimmer.

Jesmyn Ward, Professor of English, won the National Book Award for fiction for Sing, Unburied, Sing, a dark, fablelike family epic set in contemporary Mississippi that grapples with race, poverty and the psychic scars of past violence.


Tulane University, School of Liberal Arts, 102 Newcomb Hall, New Orleans, LA  70118, (504) 865-5225,