shadow_tr
Norman Mayer Hall

Our faculty's commitment to teaching is complemented by its dedication to research. Every full-time faculty member in the Political Science Department has an active research agenda that informs classroom instruction, and small classes allow students to receive individual attention from faculty. Distinguished professionals in the field, our professors of practice help promote the integration of academic scholarship with practical experience. Our research professors help connect students to the latest trends and resources in the field, as well as opportunities for interdisciplinary projects. Political science students have ample opportunities to pursue independent research, study projects and internships that are complemented by faculty supervision and direction.

For news on recent faculty research and publications click here.




Faculty


Brian Brox

Associate Professor

Research Interests : American Politics, Campaigns & Elections

Office Hours : TR 11-12 & By Appointment, 302 Norman Mayer

Contact Information: 862-8325, bbrox@tulane.edu


Ashley Brown-Burns

Assistant Professor

Research Interests : American Politics, Public Policy

Office Hours : M 10-2, 321 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : aburns5@tulane.edu


Mary Clark

Associate Professor

Research Interests : Comparative Politics, Health Policy, Latin America

Office Hours : By Appointment, 102 Newcomb Hall

Contact Information : 862-8305, maclark@tulane.edu


Geoffrey Dancy

Assistant Professor

Research Interests : Transitional Justice, Pragmatism

Office Hours : T 11-12 & W 1-2, 309 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8309, gdancy@tulane.edu


Martin Dimitrov

Associate Professor

Research Interests : Comparative Politics, Chinese Politics, Authoritarianism

Office Hours : M 10-12 and By Appointment, 305 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8301, mdimitro@tulane.edu


Patrick Egan

Assistant Professor

Research Interests : International and Comparative Political Economy

Office Hours : M 1-3, 323 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8311, pegan1@tulane.edu


Christopher Fettweis

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Research Interests : International Relations, US Foreign Policy

Office Hours : W 10-12 & 1-3, 308 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8310, fettweis@tulane.edu


Mark Gasiorowski

Professor

Research Interests : Comparative Politics, Middle Eastern Politics

Office Hours : TR 3:30-4:30, 317 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8307, gasiorowski@tulane.edu


Mirya Holman

Associate Professor

Research Interests : American Politics, Urban Politics, Women and Politics

Office Hours : TR 12:30-1:45, 310 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8316, mholman@tulane.edu


Sally Kenney

Professor

Research Interests : Comparative Public Law, Women and Politics

Office Hours : By Appointment, 43 Newcomb Place

Contact Information : 865-5422, skenney@tulane.edu


J. Celeste Lay

Associate Professor, Associate Chair

Research Interests : American Politics, Political Behavior

Office Hours : M 11-12 and 1:30-3 and By Appointment, 121C Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8323, jlay@tulane.edu


Nancy Maveety

Professor, Departmental Chair

Research Interests : American Politics, U.S. Supreme Court

Office Hours : Wednesdays By Appointment, 319 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8300, nance@tulane.edu


Thomas Oatley

Professor, Corasaniti-Zondorak Chair in International Relations

Research Interests : International Relations, Political Economy

Office Hours : T 2:30-3:30 and W 1-2, 316B Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 865-5093, toatley@tulane.edu


Virginia Oliveros

Assistant Professor

Research Interests : Comparative Politics, Political Economy, Latin America

Office Hours : MW 2-3, 311 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862.8306, volivero@tulane.edu

Menaka Philips

Assistant Professor

Research Interests : Political Thought, Democratic Theory, Feminist and Gender Studies

Office Hours : W 10-11:30, 320 Norman Mayer, B03D Newcomb

Contact Information : mphilip1@tulane.edu


Gary Remer

Professor

Research Interests : Ancient and Medieval Political Theory, Political Morality

Office Hours :  TR 11-11:50, 314 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8303, gremer@tulane.edu


Eduardo Silva

Professor, Friezo Foundation Chair in Political Science

Research Interests : Comparative Politics, Latin America

Office Hours : TR 3:30-4:30, 304 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8312, gesilva@tulane.edu


Raymond Taras

Professor

Research Interests :Global Politics, Migration, Europe

Office Hours : R 9-11 and By Appointment, 306 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8302, taras@tulane.edu


Martyn Thompson

Associate Professor

Research Interests : Philosophy, History of Political Ideas

Office Hours : TR 12:15-12:45 and TR 4:45-5:15, 322 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8304, mpt@tulane.edu


Mark Vail

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

Research Interests : Comparative Politics, Political Economy, W. Europe

Office Hours : T 1-2 and R 1-3 and By Appointment, 324 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8314, mvail@tulane.edu



Professors of Practice



Casey Love

Senior Processor of Practice, Internship Coordinator

Research Interests : Comparative Politics, Latin America, US-LA relations

Office Hours : T 12-3, 307 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8315, mkane1@tulane.edu


Christina Kiel

Professor of Practice

Research Interests : International Relations, Conflict Studies

Office Hours : M W F 12-1 and By Appointment, 121B Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 865-5248, ckiel1@tulane.edu



Research Professors


Ludovico Feoli

Research Associate Professor, Executive Director CIPR

Research Interests : Political Economy, Institutions, Quality of Governance

Office Hours : By Appointment, Joseph Merrick Jones Hall

Contact Information : lfeoli@tulane.edu



Visiting Professors

 

Michael Pomante

Visiting Professor

Office Hours : MWF 11:45-12:45, 315 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 862-8305, mpomante@tulane.edu



Adjunct Professors



Rosiland Cook

Adjunct Professor

Office Hours : MWF 9-9:45, 119 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : rcook@tulane.edu


Jennifer Dumas

Adjunct Professor

Office Hours : MWF 12:30-1 and 3-3:30, 119 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : jdumas@tulane.edu


Thomas McQuaid

Adjunct Professor

Office Hours : MW 3:30-4:30 119 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : tmcquaid@tulane.edu


Scott Nolan

Adjunct Professor

Office Hours : MWF 8-9, 119 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : snolan4@tulane.edu


Michael Pickering

Adjunct Professor

Office Hours : MWF 11-12, 119 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : mpickeri@tulane.edu

 

Robert Worth

Adjunct Professor

Office Hours : TR 1-2, 119 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : rworth@tulane.edu



Graduate Students


Lidia Abel

Contact Information : label@tulane.edu


Jenaro Abraham

Contact Information : jabraha3@tulane.edu


Antonio Baiz

Office Hours: M 1-3, 318 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : abaiz@tulane.edu


Jamie Campbell

Contact Information : jcampbe9@tulane.edu


Mathew Freimuth

Contact Information : mfreimut@tulane.edu


Kate Henvey DeMoss

Office Hours: WF 1:50-2:50, 318 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : khdemoss@tulane.edu


Wesley Hill

Office Hours:  M 4:30-6, 318 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : whill3@tulane.edu


Michael Jones

Contact Information : mjones6@tulane.edu


Lucia Kovacikova

Office Hours : R 9-11, 318 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : lkovacik@tulane.edu


Zhen Lin

Contact Information : zlin4@tulane.edu


Erica Podrazik

Contact Information : epodrazi@tulane.edu

 

Andres Sandoval

Office Hours: F 4-6, 318 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : asandov3@tulane.edu


Ezra Spira-Cohen

Contact Information : espiraco@tulane.edu


Mart E. Trasberg

Contact Information : tmart@tulane.edu


Jessica Webb

Office Hours: F 10-12, 318 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : jwebb2@tulane.edu


Zhu Zhang

Contact Information : zzhang11@tulane.edu



Staff


Gregory LeBlanc

Executive Secretary

Office : 316A Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 865-5800, gleblan@tulane.edu  


Tasia Kastanek

Administrative Secretary

Office : 316 Norman Mayer

Contact Information : 865-5166, tkastane@tulane.edu


Tulane University, Political Science Dept, 316 Norman Mayer Bldg, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5166 polisci@tulane.edu