Tulane Home   |  Calendar  |  Press Room  |  About  |  Contact

Educating undergraduate women for leadership in the 21st century.

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterWatch NCI on You-TubeWatch NCI on VimeoLinked InFlickrpinterestinstagram
<h2 class="nci-h2-featured">Sonia Sanchez is the 7th Zale-Kimmerling Writer-In-Residence (1992)


Sonia Sanchez was born in Birmingham, Alabama in 1934. When her mother died a year later, she lived with her grandmother and other relatives for several years before she moved to Harlem with her sister to live with their father and his wife when she was nine.

Sonia attended Hunter College where she earned a B. A. in political science in 1955 and went on to do postgraduate work at New York University and study poetry with Louise Bogan. She formed a writers’ workshop in Greenwich Village and co-formed a group of young poets called the “Broadside Quartet.” She was very politically involved during the Civil Rights Movement and was a pioneer in developing the black studies courses at what is now San Francisco State University where she taught in 1967 and 1968.

Sonia Sanchez’s poetry defies generational gaps and is easily enjoyable and relatable to people of various ages. She manages to use her talent to splice the truth and surround it with captivating rhymes and imagery that integrate musical rhythms and let the reader enjoy the poem as well as reach an understanding of it when it’s done. She has written more than a dozen books of poetry, published a number of plays, and written several children’s books.

Sonia was the seventh Zale Writer-in-Residence in February of 1992. She returned to Newcomb in November of 2004 for Shake Loose Our Skin, a celebration of the 20th Anniversary of the Zale Writer-in-Residence.


Ash (2001)

Bum Rush the Page: A Def Poetry Jam (2001)

Shake Loose My Skin (2000)

Like the Singing Coming Off of Drums, Beacon Press (1998)

Does Your House have Lions, Beacon Press (1997)

Black Cats and Uneasy Landings (1995)

Wounded in the House of a Friend (1995)

Under a Soprano Sky, Africa World Press (1987)

Homegirls and Handgrenades (1985)

I've Been a Woman: New and Selected Poems (1985)

I'm Black When I'm Singing, I'm Blue When I Ain't (1982)

Malcolm Man/Don't Live Here No More (1979)

Uh Huh, But How Do It Free Us? (1975)

A Blues Book for a Blue Black Magic Woman, Broadside Press (1974)

Love Poems (1973)

Sista Son/Ji (1972)

It's a New Day: Poems for Young Brothas and Sistuhs (1971)

The Bronx is Next (1970)

We a Baddddd People (1970)

Homecoming (1969)

Autumn Blues

Continuous Fire: A Collection of Poetry

Shake Down Memory: A Collection of Political Essays and Speeches

Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5000