oair logo

Did you know?

Only in New Orleans. Only at Tulane.

For the Tulane Community
Contact Us

Office Hours:

Monday - Friday
8:30am - 5:00pm

Mailing Address:

Office of Assessment and Institutional Research

1555 Poydras Street
Suite 914
New Orleans, LA 70112

Phone: 504-247-1231

Assessment Committee

The Tulane University Committee on Assessment is a standing committee of the university senate.

Excerpt from Tulane University Senate Bylaw III. Standing Committees, Section II. Standing Committees, P. Committee on Assessment: Functions

1. Executive:  To review and make recommendations to the Director of Institutional Assessment regarding the:  

″ exchange of assessment information and assessment strategies among academic programs and administrative units;

″ planning, development, and implementation of institution-wide assessment efforts;

″ fostering a campus culture of assessment and institutional effectiveness;

″ implementation of student outcomes assessment;

″ accreditation-related assessment procedures at all levels in the university;

″ appropriate and legitimate use of surveys to collect data; and

″ review of and response to unit assessment plans and reports.

2. Advisory:  To make recommendations to the Senate on policies relating to assessment. [As amended, May 10, 2010]

3. Membership

Voting members include one faculty member from each of the School of Architecture, the A.B. Freeman School of Business, the School of Continuing Studies, the School of Law, the School of Liberal Arts, the School of Medicine, the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, the School of Science and Engineering, and the School of Social Work, one of whom shall serve as chair; the chair of the Newcomb-Tulane College curriculum committee (ex officio); one member of the administration from each of the offices of Institutional Research, Student Affairs, Library, Technology Services, and University Communications; and two student representatives: one undergraduate student and one graduate student.  The Assistant Provost for Assessment and Institutional Research will be included on the committee as an ex officio non-voting member.



Committee on Assessment Members


Janet Hoeffel (17)


Deputy Chair




Faculty Members (two-year terms)

Tulane School of Architecture

Judith Kinnard (18)

A.B. Freeman School of Business

Deen Kemsley (17)

School of Continuing Studies

John H. Simmons (19)

Tulane Law School

Janet Hoeffel (17)

School of Liberal Arts

Nghana Lewis (19)

School of Medicine

TBD (19)

School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine

Hugh Long (17)

School of Science and Engineering

TBD (19)

School of Social Work

Charles Figley (17)


Ex officio voting members

NTC Curriculum Committee

Judith Maxwell

Administrative Representative, Institutional Research

Shawn Potter

Administrative Representative, Student Affairs

John Nonnamaker

Administrative Representative, Library

Andy Corrigan

Administrative Representative, Technology Services


Administrative Representative, University Communications



Student Members




Molly Payne (GAPSA) (17)


Ex officio non-voting member

Interim Assistant Provost for Assessment and Institutional Research

Rhonda Coignet


1555 Poydras Street, Suite 914, New Orleans, LA 70112 504-247-1231