About the Provost

Nicholas J. Altiero, Ph.D.

Interim Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
Dean of Science and Engineering
Professor, Biomedical Engineering and Engineering Physics

Nicholas J. Altiero, Ph.D.Dr. Altiero received a Bachelor of Science degree in aerospace engineering from the University of Notre Dame in 1969 and a Master of Science degree in aerospace engineering in 1970, a Master of Arts degree in mathematics in 1971 and a Doctor of Philosophy degree in aerospace engineering in 1974 from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. Following postdoctoral appointments at the University of Michigan and at the Department of the Interior's Twin Cities Research Center, he joined the faculty of the Materials Science and Mechanics department at Michigan State University in 1975. At Michigan State, he advanced through the faculty ranks to the rank of Professor in 1986 and, in 1990, he was named the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies of the College of Engineering, where he had administrative responsibility for the research, technology transfer, graduate studies and distance education operations of the college. In January 1998, he was named Chairman of the Department of Materials Science and Mechanics and he served in that position until June 2000. At that time, he joined the faculty at Tulane University as Dean of the School of Engineering. In 2006, in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, Tulane University was restructured and Altiero was named the inaugural Dean of the School of Science and Engineering.

Altiero has held visiting positions at the Polytechnic University of Milan, Italy, as a Fulbright Scholar, and at the Technical University of Aachen, Germany, as an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow. He has published extensively in the areas of computational mechanics, fracture mechanics, geo-mechanics, and bio-mechanics and has received external funding for research, teaching and other projects from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Economic Development Administration, Ameritech, Consumer's Power, the Edward Lowe Foundation, Ford Motor, Garrett Turbine Engine, General Dynamics, General Electric Foundation, General Motors, the Industrial Technology Institute, and the Michigan Department of Commerce. He has taught a wide range of courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels and, in 1991, received the State of Michigan Teaching Excellence Award.  He holds the title of Professor Emeritus at Michigan State University.

Altiero is a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), a fellow of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), and a member of the Sigma Xi Scientific Research Society and Tau Beta Pi Honorary Engineering Society.

He currently serves on the Board of Directors of FIRST in Louisiana-Mississippi, the Board of Directors of the Greater New Orleans Science and Engineering Fair, and the Board of Directors of the Greater New Orleans Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Initiative (Core Element). He previously has served as a member of the ASEE Board of Directors, as President of ASEE, as Chairman of the ASEE Engineering Deans' Council, as Chairman of the ASEE Engineering Research Council, as Chairman of the Council of Deans Subcommittee of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Aeronautics Research Advisory Committee, as Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Department of Energy's National Institute for Global Environmental Change, as a member of the ASME Task Force on Federal Engineering Research Funding, as a member of the Louisiana Governor's Advisory Task Force on Funding and Efficiency of the Department of Environmental Quality, as a member of the Louisiana Governor's Emergency Preparedness Advisory Council, as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA) and as a member of the Board of Directors of Wink Companies, LLC. He has also served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Alliance for Science and Technology Research in America (ASTRA), the Louisiana Innovation Council, the EPSCoR Committee of the Louisiana Board of Regents, the Nominating Committee for the Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection Authorities, the Executive Board of the Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium (LUMCON), the Board of Trustees of the Advocates for Science and Math Education (Sci High).

Updated: July 2016


University Provosts and Their Terms of Service


Academic Field(s)

Years of Service

Nicholas J. Altiero (Interim Provost)

Biomedical Engineering & Engineering Physics


Michael A. Bernstein

History and Economics


Paul L. Barron (Interim Provost)



Lester A. Lefton



Paul L. Barron (Interim Provost)



Martha W. Gilliland

Environmental Engineering


Eamon M. Kelly (Interim Provost)



James F. Kilroy



James F. Kilroy (Interim Provost)



Francis Leo Lawrence *



Francis Leo Lawrence *
(Interim Provost)



Frank Thomas Birtel



S. Frederick Starr
(Academic Vice President)



Frank Thomas Birtel (Interim Provost)



Robert Bocking Stevens



David Russell Deener

Political Science


Clarence Scheps
(Executive Vice President)

Business Administration


Maxwell Edward Lapham



Robert Mayer Lumiansky +



Fred Carrington Cole
(Academic Vice President)



* - Tulane University Alumnus
+ - Position Vacant 1959-1960

Citation information:

Page accessed: Sunday, August 28, 2016
Page URL:

200 Gibson Hall, Tulane University, 6823 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5261