Faculty Tenure, Freedom & Responsibility


Joel Friedman (Law) (20)

Faculty Members

Arachu Castro (SPHTM) (20)
Don Gaver (SSE) (18)
Marva Lewis (SSW) (20)
Ammar Eloueini (Arch) (18)
Harish Sujan (ABF) (19)
Minolfa Prieto-Carrasquero (SOM) (20)
John Verano (SLA) (18)
Joel Friedman (Law) (20)

Administrative Liaison

Associate Provost: Ana Lopez

Executive Functions

Advisory Functions

On issues affecting faculty tenure, freedom, and responsibility. The Committee shall review the written procedures of each academic constituency with respect to the reappointment of, promotion of, and the granting of tenure to the members of the faculty of the constituency and with respect to the constituency's handling of faculty grievances and make suggestions, where necessary, to the constituency for changes in those procedures to comport with academic due process.


One tenured Faculty member from each of the academic constituencies excepting the Newcomb-Tulane College. Each member shall be elected for a term of three years by the faculty of his or her academic constituency. The committee shall elect its own Chair and Secretary at the beginning of each academic year.

Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5000