ophthalmology appointments logo with person




Patient Information

      Clinical Care

      Tulane Refractive Center

      Optical Shop

Tulane Optometric Surgery Research Project (TOSRP)

Contact Us

Administrative Office
(504) 988-5804

Patient Information
(504) 988-5831

The History of Tulane Ophthalmology
The Beginning of the Eye Department


Dr. Marcus Feingold (1907-25)

The faculty of the Medical School was reorganized in 1907, and the teaching of ophthalmology was assigned to a "Department of Ophthalmology." The first professor of this new department was Dr. Marcus Feingold (1871-1925).

Dr. Marcus FeingoldDr. Feingold, a Rumanian immigrant, served as chairman for 18 years, until his death on December 26, 1925, at the age of 54. He also was chief of ophthalmology at Touro Hospital, a well-known facility. He contributed much to the ocular care of patients, both rich and poor. He was among the first to describe angioid streaks in association with age-related macular degeneration. Dr. Feingold was only 36 when he became chairman in 1907. He gradually enlarged the Eye Department so that by 1923, it contained the following faculty members:

  • Marcus Feingold, MD, FACS - Professor
  • Charles Adolph Bahn, MD - Assistant Professor
  • Henry Nathan Blum, MD, FACS - Assistant Professor
  • Melvin F. Meyer, MD - Assistant
  • A.G. Thomas, MD - Assistant
  • Jonas William Rosenthal, MD - Assistant

    Dr. Jonas William Rosenthal was the father of Dr. J. William Rosenthal, who was the curator of the Museum of the American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Next Page: Dr Matas' Eye


1430 Tulane Ave, New Orleans, LA 70112