Henry S. Ashbaugh Selected for 2013 IAPWS Helmholtz Award

Spring 2013

The International Association for the Properties of Water and Steam (IAPWS) has selected Henry S. Ashbaugh, Associate Professor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, for the 2013 IAPWS Helmholtz Award.Hank Ashbaugh

As stated from the IAPWS website, the Helmholtz Award is

“… to recognize promising early-to-mid career scientists and engineers who are making significant contributions to, or defining new directions in the areas of research of interest to IAPWS; and to encourage them to become active in IAPWS.”

In this case, Dr. Ashbaugh has been recognized for his studies on the properties of water and aqueous solutions, and in particular, the hydrophobic effect. This effect centers on the insolubility of oils in water (i.e., "oil and water don't mix") and the work focuses on how biomolecules use this insolubility to stabilize self-assembled biomolecular structures. His group has worked to develop new theories to describe this phenomena, with special attention to self-assembly in aqueous solution. Specifically, they have worked extensively on scaled-particle theories of hydrophobic hydration, and molecular simulations on the properties of self-assembled micelles and proteins in aqueous solution.

Prof. Ashbaugh will be receiving the award at the 16th International Conference on the Properties of Water and Steam (16th ICPWS, Greenwich, London) and presenting the 2013 Helmholtz Award Lecture with the title “Who’s afraid of the hydrophobic effect?”

300 Lindy Boggs Center, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118, T: 504-314-2914, F: 504-865-6744