Jonassen Lectures


Each year the Department of Chemistry at Tulane University invites an outstanding inorganic chemist to present the Hans B. Jonassen Lecture.  This endowed lecture series in Hans Jonassen's name was established to honor his long career at Tulane University and now serves as a memorial to his many contributions to Tulane and to inorganic chemistry.  Since the inauguration of the lecture in 1990, it has attracted a group of excellent chemists, including several Nobel Laureates and a number of National Academy members. 


Dr. Jonassen was a Professor of Chemistry at Tulane from 1946 until his retirement in 1989.  In addition to teaching generations of students, Dr. Jonassen held three patents, served as a consultant for many international organizations, and wrote over 165 scientific articles and other publications.  Active in civic affairs, he received the International Understanding Award from the YMCA of the United States during the 1984 World's Fair in New Orleans.  A year later, the YMCA of Greater New Orleans named him the Humanitarian of the Year.  Dr. Jonassen passed away on January 3, 1998.

Jonassen cover 1954 C&E News

Hans Jonassen on the cover of C&E News 1954 

The 2016 Jonassen Lecture speaker is Daniel G. Nocera, Patterson Rockwood Professor, Harvard University. The lecture, "The Artificial Leaf: Authentic Artificial Photosynthesis",  will take place on Monday, February 15 at 4:00PM, in 117 Richardson Memorial Hall.  This year, Professor Nocera will also present a second lecture, Sunday, February 14 at 6:00PM, in McAlister Auditorium, titled "The Global Energy Challenge: Energy for 1 (x6 Billion)" Nocera 2-14-16


Jonassen Lecture Series Guest Speakers

Year                Name                          Institution

1990                Fred Basolo                 Northwestern University

1991                Harry B. Gray              California Institute of Technology

1992                HenryTaube                Stanford University

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1983          

1993                F. Albert Cotton           Texas A & M

1994                Daryle H. Busch          University of Kansas

1995                Jack Halpern               University of Chicago

1996                Jim Collman                Stanford University

1997                Theodore L.  Brown    University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

1998                Larry Dahl                   University of Wisconsin–Madison

1999                Jim Ibers                      Northwestern University

2000 Spring     Steven J. Lippard        Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2000                John E. Bercaw           California Institute of Technology

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2005

2001                Thomas J. Meyer        University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

2002                Richard R. Schrock  -  Massachusetts Institute of Technology

                            Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2005

2004                Tobin J. Marks            Northwestern University

2005                Robert Grubbs            California Institute of Technology

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2005

2006                No lecture due to Hurricane Katrina

2007                Robert West                University of Wisconsin–Madison

2008                Frederick Hawthorne   University of California, Los Angeles

2009                Edward I. Solomon      Stanford University

2010                Robert G. Bergman     UC Berkeley

2011                Maurice Brookhart      University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

2012 Spring     Don Darensbourg                    Texas A & M

                        Marcetta Y. Darensbourg        Texas A & M

2013                Cliff Kubiak                 UC San Diego

2014                Alan Cowley               UT Austin

2015                Philip P. Power          UC Davis

2016                Daniel Nocera            Harvard

School of Science and Engineering, 201 Lindy Boggs Center, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5764