Professor Rubtsov's Group

For More Information

Rubtsov Group

                                                 Rubtsov Group 2017

Rubtsov Group
                                                  Rubtsov Group 2013



Group Announcements

Projects available for undergraduate research

 Our laboratory develops novel spectroscopic methods, including methods of two-dimensional infrared (2DIR) spectroscopy, and applies them for studying three-dimensional structures and dynamics of structural changes in complex molecular systems. With the design of the first fully automated two-dimensional infrared spectroscopy instrument in our laboratory (press release:, a wide range of research projects became available, including those for renewable energy and material design. Research opportunities in three research directions are outlined below.

Alzheimer disease (AD) causes brain dementia and is the third leading cause of death in the United States. While the origin of AD is unknown, there exist many hypotheses. Metal ions, such as Cu2+/+ and Zn2+ were shown to play important role in AD. The project targets a molecular-level understanding of how the ions affect permeability and consistency of cell membranes and will use infrared spectroscopy methods as main tools.

Another project is directed at optimizing solar cell performance. Electron transfer reactions are important steps in solar-cell operation. Finding ways of manipulating electron transfer rates by external stimuli will benefit the overall process of charge separation and solar cell operation. Infrared radiation is used as such stimulus; its influence on the electron injection into the TiO2 nanoparticles will be studied.

The development of nanomaterials with desired thermal conductivity properties is important in many areas of science and technology, including molecular electronics. Thermal conductivity of materials depends on a phonon transport regime. The fast ballistic regime results in efficient energy transport, while diffusive transport is slow and thus less efficient. The project targets the development of oligomeric systems with controlled thermal conductivity, including efficient thermal conductors and conductors of desired molecular architecture.

Interested students should contact Igor Rubtsov by e-mail or phone.

Fall 2016

Xiao Li was awarded the Arlo Harris Fellowship award.

Robert Mackin was awarded a Teaching Award.

First year graduate students Zowie Saxman and Junhan Zhou have joined the Rubtsov group!

Undergraduate students Ashton Friend and Oskay Taskin have joined the Rubtsov group!

Joel Leger and Clyde Varner‘s paper “Multi-Mode Heterodyned 5th-Order Infrared Spectroscopy” has been accepted to the Journal of Chemical Physics.

Layla Qasim’s paper “Energy Transport in PEG Oligomers: Contributions of Different Optical Bands” has been accepted to The Journal of Physical Chemistry C.

Summer 2016

Layla Qasim received an award for an outstanding poster presentation at the Vibrational Spectroscopy Gordon Research Conference.

Layla Qasim was elected as Chair of the next Vibrational Spectroscopy Gordon Research Conference.

Layla Qasim and Robert Mackin presented their research at the Vibrational Spectroscopy Gordon Research Conference.

Layla was selected to be the discussion leader for the keynote address at the Vibrational Spectroscopy Gordon Research Conference.




  Congratulations to Clara Nyby who won NSF Graduate Research
  Fellowship to perform "Spectroscopic study of structure-dependent
  energy transport along polymer chains"




  Congratulations to Dr. Gopal Naraharisetty, who received an
  Assistant Professor appointment at the University of Hyderabad



   Poster Winner, Natalia I. Rubtsova with
   Judge Dr. Amit Sharma

   April 2013 Physical Chemistry Division
   Outstanding Student Poster Award was
   presented to Natalia Rubtsova at the 245th
   National ACS Meeting in New Orleans,
   Louisiana, April 7-11, 2013.


    April 2008

    Physical Chemistry Division Outstanding

    Student Poster Award was presented to

    Sriram Gopal Naraharisetty.  The Award

    was presented at the 235th National ACS

    Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana,

    April 6-10, 2008.



School of Science and Engineering, 201 Lindy Boggs Center, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5764