Congratulations to our 2009 Award Recipients!


The R. A. Steinmayer Award and The 2009 Chairman's Award

Johanna Marjorie NevittRecipient: Johanna (Josie) M. Nevitt

Johanna Marjorie Nevitt is the top graduating senior in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences. With an overall GPA of 4.0, she is among the top geology majors ever to have graduated from Tulane. She received the New Orleans Geological Society scholarship in 2007 and 2008, and was the 2008 recipient of the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship, awarded nationally to encourage the pursuit of careers in mathematics, science, and engineering. Josie has also received a NSF fellowship to Stanford University.


The Harold E. Vokes Award

Tabitha Evelyn WatsonRecipient: Tabitha Evelyn Watson

Tabitha is an adventuresome student. She has taken a very wide range of courses and additional training in her Earth and Environmental Sciences-Cell and Molecular Biology majors as well as participating in an intense summer internship in molecular evolutionary paleobiology at Dartmouth. Her senior thesis on the evolution of structures in birds wings based on molecular paleobiology is truly original and innovative.


The Stuart S. Bamforth Prize for Excellence in Environmental Studies and The 2009 Chairman's Award

Barbara Tierney WalshRecipient: Barbara Tierney Walsh

Tierney Walsh is the type of student that every professor wants in the classroom. Her enthusiasm and curiosity bring life to any lecture or discussion, and she brings a positive spirit to everything she does. She is also incredibly focused, and this is reflected in the quality of her senior research project. It is no wonder that she is at the top of her peer group; her scholarship is outstanding and her enthusiasm is unbridled


101 Blessey Hall, New Orleans, LA 70118, 504-865-5198