Congratulations to our 2011 Award Recipients!


The R. A. Steinmayer Award

Jaimeson G. FrederichsRecipient: Jaimeson G. Fredericks

Jaimeson Fredericks is among the top two graduating seniors in the Geology program this year. She has excelled in her coursework and greatly increased her knowledge of the Earth. The faculty of the department and her fellow students all consider her a delight to work with. According to Jaimeson, switching her major to Geology was the best decision of her life.


The Harold E. Vokes Award and The 2011 Chairman's Award

Austin G. NijhuisRecipient: Austin G. Nijhuis

Austin Nijhuis is among the top graduating seniors in the Geology program in the last several years. He has excelled in his geological studies and has been most helpful to his fellow students. He was awarded a research grant by the Louisiana Sea Grant College Program for his project entitled "Quantifying wetland accretion rates in the Mississippi Delta using recent crevasse-splay deposits as natural analogs for river diversion." He plans to continue his studies in graduate school. Austin has great potential for whatever he chooses to do in the future.


The Stuart S. Bamforth Prize for Excellence in Environmental Studies

Ericka L. OrgeronRecipient: Ericka L. Orgeron

Ericka Orgeron is also among the top graduating seniors in the Earth Science track of the Environmental Studies major for 2011. She plans to move to the Baton Rouge area and teach elementary/middle school science with the Teach for America Program. She will be successful in any endeavor she undertakes.


101 Blessey Hall, New Orleans, LA 70118, 504-865-5198