shadow_tr
 

Faculty and Staff

Top ⇑ Faculty

Jeffrey G. Agnew

Jeffrey G. Agnew senior Professor of Practice

Ph.D., Louisiana State University, 2008
Email: jagnew@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Geoscience Education, Paleobiology, Paleoecology, Taphonomy, Taxonomy

Mead A. Allison

Mead A. Allison Professor

PROFESSOR AND Chair, Department of River-Coastal Science and Engineering
Program Director, The Water Institute of the Gulf

Ph.D., State University of New York, Stony Brook, 1993
Email: meadallison@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Sedimentary Processes of Continental Margin Environments

Reda M. Amer

Reda M. Amer Professor of Practice

Ph.D., St. Louis University, 2011
Email: ramer1@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Remote Sensing,
Geographic Information System (GIS); Environmental Geology

Nancye H. Dawers

Nancye H. Dawers Associate Professor/Department chair

Ph.D., Columbia University, 1997
Email: ndawers@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Structural Geology, Neotectonics, Fault Growth and Interaction Using Scaling Relations in Evolving Fault Populations

Cynthia J. Ebinger

Cynthia J. Ebinger Professor and Marshall-Heape Chair in GEOLOGY

Ph.D., MIT-WHOI Joint Program, 1988
Email: cebinger@tulane.edu
Research: Solid-Earth Geophysics, Earthquake and Volcano Seismology, Crustal Dynamics

George C. Flowers

George C. Flowers Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1979
Email: flowers@tulane.edu
Research: Theoretical Geochemistry, Sedimentary Geochemistry, Environmental Geochemistry of Estuarine Sediments

Nicole M. Gasparini

Nicole M. Gasparini Associate Professor

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2003
Email: ngaspari@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Fluvial Geomorphology, Landscape Evolution, Sediment Delivery from Hillslopes to Rivers, Interactions between Climate and Tectonics Through Erosion, Impacts of Climate Change on River Networks

Brent Goehring

Brent M. Goehring Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Columbia University, 2010
Email: bgoehrin@tulane.edu
Research Interests: The application of cosmogenic nuclides and other isotope systems to questions in Plio/Pleistocene geology (last 6 million years), including glacial geology and paleoclimatology, tectonics, volcanology, and other earth surface processes.

Colin Jackson

Colin Jackson Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Brown University, 2014
Email: cjackson2@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Solid Earth geochemistry and petrology, High temperature and pressure synthesis, Planetary Science

Karen H. Johannesson

Karen H. Johannesson Cochran Family professor

Ph.D., University of Nevada, Reno, 1993
Email: kjohanne@tulane.edu
Research Interests:
Low-Temperature Aqueous Geochemistry and Biogeochemistry, Emphasizing Trace Element Speciation, Chemical Hydrogeology, and Biogeochemical Cycling of Trace Elements (e.g., Arsenic, Selenium, and REEs) in the Environment

Jeffrey M. Sigler

Jeffrey M. Sigler senior Professor of Practice

Ph.D., Yale University, 2006
Email: jsigler1@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Micrometeorology, Biometeorology,
Air Pollution, Environmental Cycling of Mercury

Kyle M. Straub

Kyle M. Straub Associate Professor

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2007
Email: kmstraub@tulane.edu
Research Interests:
Sediment transport from land through
the ocean into the stratigraphic record, Continental Slope Morphodynamics,
Submarine Morphodynamics

Torbjörn E. Törnqvist

Torbjörn E. Törnqvist Vokes Geology Professor

Ph.D., Utrecht University, 1993
Email: tor@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Quaternary geology, Fluvial and deltaic sedimentology, Sequence stratigraphy, Sea-level change, Applied geochronology, Paleoclimatology

Jenny Whitten

Jennifer Whitten Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Brown University, 2014
Email: jwhitten1@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Planetary Science, Volcanism, Impact Cratering, Geomorphology, Radar

Top ⇑ Emeritus Faculty

Stephen A. Nelson

Stephen A. Nelson Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1979
Email: snelson@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Igneous Petrology, Volcanology, Relationship Between Volcanism and Tectonism, Particularly in Mexico, Mechanisms of Explosive Volcanism, Natural Disasters

Ronald L. Parsley

Ronald L. Parsley Professor Emeritus

Ph.D., University of Cincinnati, 1969
Email: parsley@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Phylogenetics, Functional Morphology, Paleoecology, Mode and Tempo of Evolution of Lower Paleozoicprimitive Echinodermata, Paleobiology and Paleoecology of Lower Paleozoic Faunas

Top ⇑ Adjunct Faculty

Marshall Bowles

Marshall Bowles Adjunct Professor

Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2011
Email: mbowles2@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Biogeochemistry, microbial ecology, geomicrobiology, molecular microbiology, marine deep subsurface biosphere

Chris Espocito Thumbnail

Chris Esposito Adjunct Professor

Ph.D., Tulane University, 2017
Email: cesposit@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Hydraulics and Sediment Transport In River Deltas, Floodplain Sedimentation, Sedimentary Processes within Vegetation, Numerical Modeling of Coastal Morphology, Coastal Zone Management and Infrastructure

Barry Kohl

Barry Kohl Adjunct Professor

Ph.D., Tulane University, 1980
Email: bkohl40@cs.com
Research Interests: Tertiary Foraminiferal Biostratigraphy, Applied Micropaleontology, Global Sea Level change

Alexander S. Kolker

Alexander S. Kolker Adjunct Professor

Ph.D., State University of New York, Stony Brook, 2005
Email: akolker@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Natural, climatic, and anthropogenic
processes which govern coastal systems during times of stasis and
change,Determining the balance between subsidence and sedimentation
in Barataria Bay

Brad E. Rosenheim

Brad E. Rosenheim Adjunct Professor

Ph.D., University of Miami, 2005
Email: brosenheim@usf.edu
Research Interests: Analysis of very recent geologic records of
ocean circulation parameters (temperature, oxygen isotopes,
salinity, minor elements, and 14C) in relation to global climate change,
Circulation history of the subtropical North Atlantic

Brendan T. Yuill

Brendan T. Yuill Adjunct Professor

Ph.D., University of Arizona, 2009
Email: byuill@thewaterinstitute.org
Research Interests: Geomorphology and watershed hydrology
Sediment transport mechanics and management
Landscape evolution modeling at engineering timescales
Physical processes relating to delta restoration

Top ⇑ Postdoctoral Fellows

Nathan Lyons

Nathan Lyons Postdoctoral Fellow

Ph.D., North Carolina State University, 2014
Email: nlyons@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Fluvial and Tectonic Geomorphology, Stream Incision and Hillslope Response to Climatic and Tectonic Forcing, Erosion and Sediment Flux in Mountainous Regions

Elena Steponaitis

Elena Steponaitis Postdoctoral Fellow

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2016
Email: estepona@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Geochronology, Isotope Geochemistry, and Paleoclimate

Top ⇑ Staff

Diana Di Leonardo

Diana Di Leonardo Lab Technician, Dept. Safety Representative

M.S. Geology, Oregon State University, 2013
Phone: 504-862-3271
Email: ddileona@tulane.edu

Tonya Durden

Tonya Durden Administrative Program Coordinator

Phone: 504-247-1798
Email: tdurden@tulane.edu

Tanya Goehring

Tanya Goehring PG - Laboratory Technician

Phone: 504-865-5127
Email: tgoehrin@tulane.edu

dave-maag

David Maag Information Systems Specialist

Phone: 504-988-3825
Email: dmaag@tulane.edu

Nina Yang

Nina Yang Accountant

Phone:504-862-3105
Email: nyang2@tulane.edu

101 Blessey Hall, New Orleans, LA 70118, 504-865-5198 EES@tulane.edu