SSE Executive Committee School Meeting

September 22, 2006

8:00 AM – 10:00 AM


Present: Altiero, McPherson, De Kee, Burdsal, Parker, Gaver, Mullin, John, Koplitz, Nelson, Dyer (for Heins), Kalka, McGuire, Dohanich, Tasker, Meffert (for McLachlan)

Absent: None

Follow-up on Previous Meetings

There was further discussion about having all SSE departmental websites managed by Mudbug Media. Dean Altiero said that there is a rather substantial fee charged for the initial transfer of a site but that the hourly fees for maintenance are quite reasonable. Furthermore, maintenance costs can be minimized by assigning staff members to manage content using the Contribute 3 software. The SSE dean’s office will help departments cover some of the initial site transfer costs but departments will then be fully responsible for site maintenance costs.

Altiero also briefed the group on some curricular issues. An agreement has been reached with the School of Liberal Arts that social science courses may be counted toward the BS degree with some exceptions to be identified by the departments of Anthropology and Economics. The minor in Pharmacology has been discontinued. The programs in Environmental Biology and Environmental Geoscience and the science track of the Environmental Studies coordinate major will be integrated into a single Environmental Science program.

Faculty Hiring

Provost Barron has scheduled individual meetings with the department chairs to discuss short-term and long-term faculty hiring. These meetings will begin on September 28 and will include Dean Altiero. The group discussed a number of questions that would need to be addressed in these meetings with the Provost and agreed that it is important to be well-prepared with data to back up both short-term and long-term needs. It was also agreed that long- term faculty hiring needs would be highly dependent on the School’s teaching load policy.

Teaching Load Policy

Altiero distributed the teaching load policy of the School of Engineering and said that this now needs to be adjusted to better suit the School of Science and Engineering. There was a lengthy discussion and Altiero agreed to create a draft policy for consideration at the next meeting.

Strategic Planning

On the previous day, the Executive Committee had met with Michael Ginzberg, the external consultant for the School’s strategic planning process. It was agreed that the following faculty members would be appointed to a Strategic Planning Steering Committee: Cedric Walker, Ken Muneoka, Kyriakos Papadopoulos, Mike Herman, Tor Tornqvist, Jeff Chambers, Lisa Fauci, Fred Wietfedlt, and Jeff Lockman. Altiero said that he would add some members from other units on campus. This committee will review the documents prepared by the Divisions of the School and will draft a unified document for the next iteration.

School of Science and Engineering, 201 Lindy Boggs Center, New Orleans, LA 70118 504-865-5764