News 2011 - 2012

Summer 2012 | Fall 2011 | Spring 2012

Summer 2012

Welcome to Dr. Courtney Baker  July  2012

In July 2012, Dr. Courtney Baker will join the department as a core faculty member in our APA-accredited School Psychology Ph.D. program. Dr. Baker earned the Ph.D. at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst, and currently is a post-doctoral fellow at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Research Institute. Her interests include research in early childhood interventions.

Faculty Promotions and Appointments  July  2012

Promotions: Dr.Laurie O'Brien received tenure and promotion to the rank of Associate Professor.  Drs. Michael Cunningham and Bonnie Nastasi were promoted to the rank of Professor.

Appointments: Dr. Michael Cunningham has been appointed as the Associate Provost of Engaged Learning and Teaching within the Office of Academic Affairs.  Dr. Stacy Overstreet has been appointed as the Chair of the Department of Psychology.  Dr. Janet Ruscher has been appointed as the Associate Dean for Graduate Programs in the School of Science and Engineering.

Spring 2012

Faculty Accolades  May 2012

Several psychology faculty received university recognition this year. Dr. Beth Wee received the John Stibbs Award for Outstanding Faculty Member from the Undergraduate Student Government. Dr. Gary Dohanich was named Distinguished Newcomb Fellow at the 2012 Under the Oaks ceremony. Dr. Janet Ruscher was named a Suzanne and Stephen Weiss Presidential Teaching Fellow, as well as Honor's Professor of the Year.

Graduate Commencement Ceremony  May 18, 2012

Master of Science participants: Alex Sims, Jake Firestone, Dusty Mars, and Lauren Peterson.
Doctor of Philosophy participants: Alyssa Boasso, Christiane Creveling, Qi Li, Rosa Maria Mulser, Jill West, Jeremy Nelson (Neuroscience), and Kathryn Moore.

And more promotions!!! May 2012

Dr. Michael Cunningham and Dr. Bonnie Nastasi are promoted to the rank ofFull Professor. Congratulations on their achievements.

CELT Year 1 May 8, 2012

051012_mcunningham2_3936_pbcMike Cunningham, Executive Director of the Center for Engaged Learning and Teaching, reflects on their inaugural year.
Read the full story

End of Year Celebration  April, 25 2012

GuptaPetersensmThe 2012 Psychology Honor's Thesis Students presented their findings in a poster format "data blitz," and received recognition certificates from Dr. Cunningham. The Psi Chi Senior Officers Jake Firestone, Ashlei Peterson, and Ayesha Sujan inducted 37 new members, then Dr. Alvarez presented the 2012 undergraduate awards of Senior Scholar, the Rosa Cahn Hartman Prize, the Aaron Hartman Medal, the Anne M. McPherson Memorial Student Award, The Arnold Gerall Prize in Neuroscience, and the Barbara E. Moely Award for Psychology in the Public Interest. More pictures 

Alumna Honored  April 2012

ARBlackDr. Angela Rose Black, BS in Psychology, 1998, was honored as the 2012 Outstanding Young Alumma of the School of Science and Engineering. Dr. Black is an assistant professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Community Health at University of Illinois. Her work examines the influence of stress on black women's preventative health behavior and outcomes. For more detail, please see the program from the awards celebration on the [SSE Alumni Website]

Faculty Promotions April 2012

Congratulations to Dr. Laurie O'Brien, who is promoted to Associate Professor with tenure

Dr. O'Brien joined our faculty in 2005, just before Hurricane Katrina struck southeast Louisiana. She earned the Ph.D. at the University of Kansas, then completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the University of California at Santa Barbara. Dr. O'Brien's work, funded by the National Science Foundation and the Louisiana Board of Regents, examines stereotype threat, stigma, and legitimizing ideologies.

Undergraduate Award Nominations February 2012

Nominations for the Barbara E. Moely Award for Psychology in the Public Interest and the Anne McPherson Memorial Student Award are due March 15th.[More information]

Fall 2011


Tulane PhD Student Awarded Bergeron Award in School Psychology November, 2011

naserThe Will Bergeron Memorial Scholarship was established by the Louisiana School Psychology Association in 1982 in honor of one of the early practitioners and trainers of school psychology in Louisiana. Shereen Naser is the recipient of the 2011 Bergeron Award. Shereen embodies the exemplary qualities highlighted by the award, including a dedication to the study of School Psychology and an enthusiasm for the field that is apparent to all those who come into contact with her.

Beth Wee Honored for Public Service November, 2011

Beth Wee Dr. Beth Wee is the 2011 recipient of the Barbara E. Moely Service Learning Teaching Award. In addition to incorporating service learning into her Brain and Behavior course and coordinating the Neuroscience internship course, Dr. Wee created a School-wide service learning course for research-active undergraduates called "Bringing Research to the Community."

Read the Full Story »

A Tale of Two Fellowships September, 2011

Stefanie_Ph.D. student Stefanie Simon submitted graduate fellowship proposals to both the National Science Foundation and the Jacob K. Javits Fellowship program, and was offered both of them. Students cannot hold two Federal graduate fellowships simultaneously, so Stefanie declined the Javits. Her work, funded for three years, explores how confronting strategies may be an effective coping strategy for targets of discrimination and prejudice; Stefanie is working with social psychologist Dr. Laurie O'Brien. The aim of this research is to develop confronting strategies that not only reduce prejudice but also improve intergroup relations.

Faculty Promotions and Additions July 1, 2011

Congratulations to Dr. Ed Golob, who is promoted to Associate Professor with tenure and to Dr. Stacy Overstreet, who is promoted to Full Professor. And a warm welcome to Dr. Conni Patterson, Professor of Practice

Dr. Golob joined our faculty in 2004, following graduate work at Dartmouth College, post-doctoral work at UC-Irvine's Department of Neurology, and a researcher position at UC-Irvine's Institute for Brain Aging and Dementia. Dr. Golob is a cognitive neuroscientist with particular interest in the auditory system, attention, and aging.

Dr. Overstreet joined our faculty in 1995, and earned tenure in 2001. Since 2004, she has directed our APA-accredited School Psychology Doctoral Program. Dr. Overstreet's research considers children at risk for maladjustment due to chronic stressors such as community violence and natural disaster.

Dr. Patterson joins our faculty this fall, as a Professor of Practice in the area of School Psychology. Dr. Patterson brings extensive expertise to the application of psychology in the school systems and to internship training. Welcome!!


Department of Psychology • 2007 Percival Stern Hall • New Orleans, LA 70118 • Phone: 504-865-5331 •